What is another word for Heptarchy?

Pronunciation: [hˈɛptɑːki] (IPA)

The Heptarchy was a period in English history, lasting from the 5th to the 9th centuries, characterized by the seven kingdoms of Northumbria, Mercia, East Anglia, Kent, Essex, Sussex, and Wessex. When it comes to synonyms for the word "Heptarchy," there are a few options to choose from. Some similar terms include "Seven Kingdoms," "Seven Realms," "Seven Provinces," and "Anglo-Saxon Confederation." Each of these phrases reflects the shared culture and political structure of the seven kingdoms during this time period. Regardless of the language used to describe it, the Heptarchy remains an important and fascinating part of English history, showcasing the various regional differences and cultural influences that contribute to the country's rich heritage.

Synonyms for Heptarchy:

What are the hypernyms for Heptarchy?

A hypernym is a word with a broad meaning that encompasses more specific words called hyponyms.

Usage examples for Heptarchy

Trifling as this place now seems, it must have been the manor-house of Solihull, under the Saxon Heptarchy; but went to decay so long ago as the conquest.
"An History of Birmingham (1783)"
William Hutton
No certain evidence remains to inform us when this liquid work was accomplished: perhaps in the Saxon Heptarchy, when there were few or no buildings south of the church.
"An History of Birmingham (1783)"
William Hutton
This very probably happened under the Saxon Heptarchy, and the name was no other than Bromwycham.
"An History of Birmingham (1783)"
William Hutton

Word of the Day

involuntary servitude
bondage, captivity, dependency, enslavement, enthrallment, feudalism.