What is another word for the Stations of the Cross?

Pronunciation: [ðə stˈe͡ɪʃənz ɒvðə kɹˈɒs] (IPA)

The Stations of the Cross, also known as the Way of the Cross, Via Crucis, or Via Dolorosa, is a series of fourteen events that depict the journey of Jesus Christ towards crucifixion. These events have been symbolically represented in many forms of Christian art and devotion, including prayer and meditation. Other synonyms for Stations of the Cross include the Passion of Christ, the Crucifixion, and the Calvary procession. Each of these synonyms has different meanings and emphasizes different aspects of the journey towards the crucifixion. However, all of them share a common thread of remembrance and contemplation of the sacrifice of Jesus Christ for humanity's redemption.

What are the hypernyms for The stations of the cross?

A hypernym is a word with a broad meaning that encompasses more specific words called hyponyms.
  • Other hypernyms:

    christian worship, religious rituals, acts of piety, devotional practices.

Word of the Day

cyclic insanity
Antonyms are words that have an opposite meaning to the word being described. In the case of "cyclic insanity," the opposite could be "mental stability," "balance of mind," or "san...